Philippines: 2 Banwaon activists shot dead in Agusan Sur


    Two active members of the Tagdumahan indigenous peoples’ organization were shot dead on August 12, 2016 in the municipality of San Luis, Agusan del Sur.

    At around seven in the evening, in Barangay Balit, Jerry ‘Dandan’ Layola, 42 years old, went to answer a knock on his door. Upon opening it, he was immediately shot three times in the chest by an unidentified man who then left on a motorcycle.

    On the same evening, roughly some minutes after Layola was killed, Jimmy Mapinsahan Barosa, a resident of Barangay Kasilayan, was also shot by an unidentified man. Barosa, 48 years old, was at a house in Barangay Baylo, intending to bring his wife to a hospital the following day, as she needed blood transfusion. He had just finished dinner and had come out to talk with some of his friends outside. The man, who had a bonnet over his entire head, shot him right through his back and left on a motorcycle. Barosa died on the spot.

    Renel Manpinsahan, 19 years old, who was sitting with Jimmy, sustained a wound across his forehead, which fortunately was not fatal.

    The Tagdumahan is an organization of the Banwaon people in San Luis, Agusan del Sur. The leaders and members of the organization had been targeted by the paramilitary group previously headed by the now deceased Mario Napongahan. Tagdumahan is active in campaigns to protect the ancestral lands of the Banwaon from logging and mining. They had also protested against the military operations conducting the Community Organizing for Peace and Development (COPD) and the forced recruitment of the Banwaon as ‘peace volunteers’.

    In 2014, Banwaon leader and Balit Barangay Captain Necasio Precioso was killed by members of the paramilitary group on his way to a municipality gathering. Precioso had been accused by the military of supporting the rebel group, New People’s Army. Until now, his killers have not been brought to justice.

    to the Philippine Government by writing to:

    H.E. Rodrigo Roa Duterte
    President, Republic of the Philippines
    New Executive Building Malacanang Palace Compound
    JP Laurel Street, San Miguel, Manila
    1005 Philippines
    Tel: +6327356201/5641451 to 80

    Hon. Alfredo Benjamin Sabater Caguioa
    Secretary, Department of Justice

    Hon. Jose Luis Martin Gascon
    Chairperson, Commission On Human Rights
    Telefax: 929-0102, 928-5655, 926-6188

    Atty. Leonor T. Oralde-Quintayo
    Chairperson, National Commission on Indigenous Peoples
    Tel: 373-97-87

    Hon. Democrito O. Plaza
    Governor, Province of Agusan del Sur
    Tel.: (085) 343-7144/343-7136/343-3750/
    Fax: (085) 343-7369/242-3801

    Hon. Ronaldo Y. Corvera
    Mayor, Municipality of San Luis
    T: 0916-5569870
    Copy furnish your letters

    For more information, contact us at:

    Higala sa Lumad Network
    Room 01, Kalinaw Lanao Center for Interfaith Resources
    0016 Bougainvilla Puti, Villaverde
    9200 Iligan City, Philippines
    T/F: +63 (63) 223 5179

    Click here to download full alert.