Bangladesh: PCJSS Observes 29th Death Anniversary Of M N Larma Throughout CHT Amid BGB Obstruction In Thanchi

    On 10 November 2012 the Parbatya Chattagram Jana Samhati Samiti (PCJSS) observed 29th death anniversary of Manabendra Narayan Larma, founder of the PCJSS and pioneer of national awaking of indigenous Jumma peoples, through out the Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT) at district and sub-district level with the slogan to resist dissident and anti-accord conspiracy and to strengthen movement for implementation of CHT Accord.

    However, Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) of Balipara zone foiled PCJSS programme in the name of ensuring security for visit of Chief of Army at Balipara BGB zone under Thanchi upazila in Bandarban district. It is learnt that prior to starting the rally, president of PCJSS Thanchi branch Mr. Chasathowai Marma was picked up by a group of BGB personnel led by one Warrant Officer from Balipara 10 battalion and taken to Balipara camp. Mr. Chasathowai Marma was abused and even threatened to sink into water by battalion commander Lt. Colonel Nurul Momen Chowdhury. The BGB foiled the PCJSS programme.
    It is mentionable that marking the 29th death anniversary of M N Larma, PCJSS organised rally, floral tribute to the portrait of M N Larma, memorial meeting, candling and flying of balloon. In Rangamati, Dr. Manik Lal Dewan, former chairman of Rangamati Hill District Council was present as chief guest at the discussion meeting while Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma, president of PCJSS attended the meeting as main discussant. Besides, vice president of PCJSS Ushatan Talukdar, convenor of M N Larma Memorial Foundation Bijoy Keton Chakma, et al spoke in the memorial meeting.
    In Khagrachari district, programmes including rally, memorial meeting, tribute to the portrait to M N Larma, candling etc were organized in Manikchari, Laxmichari and Ramgarh sub-districts.
    In Bandarban, presided over by president of Bandarban district branch of PCJSS Sadhuram Tripura, the memorial meeting was attended by K S Mong as chief guest.

    Source: PCJSS (Parbatya Chattagram Jana Samhati Samiti)