Appeal by displaced villagers for Burma Army troops to withdraw from Pasaung village


    To: The President


    The Republic of the Union of Myanmar

    August 15, 2014

    Subject: Appeal by displaced villagers for Burma Army troops to withdraw from Pasaung village, Wan Warp tract, Ke See township, Loilem district, Shan State (south)

    1. On June 26, 27, 28, 2014, fighting between the Burma Army and the SSPP/SSA caused the villagers of Pasaung to fear for their lives. Since July 5, they have been fleeing to seek shelter in Wan Warp Temple. Until today there are 291 villagers seeking shelter.

    2. Since June 26, 2014, until today, the Burma Army troops have been digging bunkers in Pasaung, setting up road blocks, and strictly checking all the villagers.

    3. Until today, in Pasaung and the surrounding area, due to the tension between both sides, 422.5 acres of farmland have been destroyed (including 43.5 acres of rice paddy, which was not able to be transplanted, as well as 387 acres of hill-rice, peanut, and corn plantations). Fences have been destroyed, causing cattle to trample on and eat crops. Villagers have not been allowed to go and fix these fences. Chickens, pigs, buffalo and cattle have been killed and eaten, and have also stepped on land-mines and died. The Burma Army troops have occupied the house compounds of villagers. All this is causing difficulties for the villagers to return to their homes.

    4. We are therefore requesting that the Burma Army troops who have occupied our house compounds withdraw from Pasaung, and for the government to provide compensation for the destruction of our property, crops and livestock.

    5. We are attaching the signatures of the villagers of Pasaung, Wan Warp tract, Ke See township, Loilem district, Shan State (south).


    U Walenta (or) Sang Mai
    (13/ka-tha-na (naing) 001197)
    On behalf of the villagers
    Contact: 09-363 58811

    Copies to:

    1. Dr. Sai Mauk Kham, Vice-President, Chair of the Union Peace-making Work Committee
    2. Senior-General Min Aung Hlaing (Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Services), Defence Ministry
    3. U Aung Min, Vice Chairman 1, Union Peace-making Work Committee
    4. U Thein Zaw, Vice Chairman 2, Union Peace-making Work Committee
    5. Chief Minister, Shan State government
    6. U Sai Kyaw Zaw Than, Upper House representative, Union Peace-making Work Committee
    7. U Sai Aum Seng Murng, Lower House representative, Ke See township
    8. U Sai San Leng, State Assembly representative no. 1, Ke See township
    9. Regional Commander, Shan Central East Region Military Command, Kho Lam
    10. Regional Commander, Eastern Region Military Command, Taunggyi
    11. Regional Commander, Northeastern Region Military Command, Lashio
    12. Regional Commander, Golden Triangle Command, Kengtung
    13. Shan State Progressive Party (SSPP/SSA)
    14. Restoration Council of Shan State (RCSS/SSA)
    15. Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNLD)
    16. Shan Nationalities Democratic Party (SNDP)
    17. Union Solidarity Development Party (USDP)
    18. Displaced villagers